Help... someone make a HU guide pls

Talk about the hows and the whys of arguably the purest form of poker

Help... someone make a HU guide pls

Postby exabet » Thu Aug 14, 2008 3:57 pm

Anyone very power in HU sngs, please make a guide please or redirect me to any training sites?

I'm totally thrashed in PS... think my br now is -500 muahahaha. Just made a move to FT with a new nick, doing much better at the $6 hu sngs there.
exabet
Challenge Poker Player

Re: Help... someone make a HU guide pls

Postby felixleong » Thu Aug 14, 2008 5:43 pm

Heads up I can give u some advise from my experiences, but I'm not really good at it since I focus on 6-max and full ring de.

1) never open fold when in SB, the pot odds are too good so at least call with 23/27 to see the flop or no shame folding to a raise by BB since u only post 1/2 blind
2) be very very aggressive, I tend to play 1.5x to 3x times more aggressive postflop heads up then 6-max
3) hands like Ace high and small/mid pair raise tremendously in value and are good check down/bluff catchers
4) Since unpaired hands like 2 overcards only hit the flop 30% of the time, flop situations are like a game of chicken so to succeed well in heads up you must not be afraid to make high percentage continuation bets (60-80%) and also 3 bet flop light with semi-bluffs/air as most of the time villain is holding air
5) any pocket pair (22-AA) preflop can be played as a big hand as there is only 1:30 chance that your opponent also holds a pair and a very slim chance he has a pair that dominates you, short to say if your preflop raise can produce a good fold equity then go ahead and 3-bet or even 4-bet fiercely with your small/mid pairs too
6) you have to showdown much more often then 6-max, so always remember small hand small pot. Do not often go to showdown with all your chips in the middle holding just a pair, you often wanna check a flop or turn with single pair hands to keep the pot small and shorten the streets.