Yay I am a break even player!

Discuss ring game approaches and strategies here

Yay I am a break even player!

Postby exabet » Sat Jan 05, 2008 9:35 pm

Feeling very happy now and just wanted to share with you guys in this virgin forum.

Short story is like this:
I'm a newbie player and through bad bankroll management, impatient playing, lack of discipline, arrogance, bad poker knowledge etc lost 5 deposits in a span of 1 month. It is very very easy to lose money. It was 2 times faster for me to lose it then to win it back.

Through alot of hours of patient playing, 2 months later I've finally recouped it all. Technically still losing because of the rake I paid hahaha. But I think I've learnt a lot in the past 2 months. I can especially see the difference between cash games, sngs, mtts on a macro level. In microstakes, moving between the limits 0.02nl, 0.05nl, 0.25nl, LHE...I experience alot of playing styles, lost a lot of money, but learned really a lot. Its not something the books can teach.

I'm very happy that I've made it all back. Maybe I'd blog about it and talk about some of the things I find interesting about microstakes.

Taking a break for now. Just felt like sharing! Ciaoz!

PS: Thanks to all the wonderful players who helped me out or gave me encouraging words online! Also to Felix for his encouragement. Reading your blog has been very encouraging for me. Thanks to Chris aka DM101 for his encouragement especially at a low period of my bankroll! Thanks to Leslie for his super videos, I think that was another one of my turnaround points when I actually feel the poker knowledge seep into the brain!
exabet
Challenge Poker Player

Re: Yay I am a break even player!

Postby DM101 » Sun Jan 06, 2008 6:42 pm

Well done and congrats to you Exabet!!! :P

I am sure that the poker kakis here are delighted to see your progression.
We are always glad to help each other out and that's what this forum is all about.