Bad Beats and the Doom Switch

Brag about the good, vent over the bad.

Bad Beats and the Doom Switch

Postby mudspot » Wed Feb 27, 2008 1:29 pm

I have been hearing strange things lately about a doom switch or a difficulty level switch at the poker sites. Especially now that I will be starting work at Mansion soon, people have been asking for superuser accounts. BTW, I am not in the Poker group. I am in the Trade Betting group. If you have no idea of what it is about, visit Betfair and look for Tradefair, or trade betting.

Ok, back to my main point.

1. I am a top-notch programmer. I can tell you programming a doom switch/difficulty level switch is not only economically non-viable; BUT also mathematically senseless. Even if you have a separate difficulty level, the number of cards in each level is still 52. And still random. Further more, how do you classify what cards or what board as "more difficult"? Poker is a game what any pockets can play and win; so a difficulty level classification is non-mathematically. Any classification can only be based on Probability/Statistics.

2. Poker gaming companies have employees, and do employ new people. They have employed thousands of people. This means that they have source code access to the gaming environment. Now if there is a really a doom switch, any smart programmer will just take the code, quit his job, and sue the company. "See, here is the doom switch code/difficulty level". The company will be dead. Any thinks the company is that stupid?