Extremely Important Information

Discuss the basics, psychology, probability, table selection etc.

Extremely Important Information

Postby Belousov » Wed Jul 16, 2008 9:57 pm

This is probably one of the best threads online right now. It gives a pure mathematical answer to a play that may seem like misology, and it denotes it as +cEV. http://www.pocketfives.com/poker-forums/7/Glorious-shove-by-DJK-in-1k-on-stars-3082457

Sidenote, I actually worked the maths out a month ago, after I finished my Master's degree (second in my class whoo!) and have opened up my pushing range quite a bit in sng's. This has resulted in an avg. of 5$US in ,primarily, 16$ STT on stars over the last 450 games.
Belousov
Challenge Poker Player

Re: Extremely Important Information

Postby ohboy » Thu Jul 17, 2008 12:33 pm

care to discuss the calculations here?

i'm interested
ohboy
Shark

Postby suitedpairs29 » Fri Jul 18, 2008 11:36 am

I have seen the post way before you had mentioned it here on pokerkaki and the initial impression I was given was that the play was purely a gamble play. As seen, DJK, a top online pro, shoved to win 800 with QTo on the SB , risking his entire stack and happened to run into a JJ of the BB and was fortunate to flop two 10s. Most online pros take risks like this and gamble it up with 70-30 or 80-20 spots and take a big stack in order to cruise into the final table.

Maybe I need to look this up again.
suitedpairs29
Challenge Poker Player

Postby felixleong » Fri Jul 18, 2008 9:09 pm

Yeah it seems like nowadays getting more common for mid/high stakes players to try gambling up early as to create a powerful big stack, having a nice shot to bully one's way to the final table is it :lol: . haha
felixleong
Great White Shark

Medals: 4
Long Jie Participant (1) 1000 posts (1) Article Contributor (1) Helpful Kaki (1)

Pokerkaki Ads

Postby Pokerkaki Ads

Pokerkaki Ads
Shameless Advertising to keep this site alive

Postby ohboy » Wed Jul 23, 2008 2:49 pm